Philly Cheesesteak Stuffed Red Bell Peppers

If you all are anything like me, you spend countless minutes hours on Pinterest, more specifically on the “Food & Drink” board. I have seen many pins and have re-pinned the recipe for Philly cheesesteak stuffed bell peppers many times. I finally decided it was time to actually try the recipe instead of just drooling over the photo.

The recipe below is my adaptation of the recipe seen all over Pinterest, which I did make according to its directions, I just felt the need to kick it up a bit. The first time I made the recipe I used green bell peppers and red bell peppers (I already had some at home so I decided to give it a try) and I am glad I did, I prefer the red bell peppers over the green.

I also added a few ingredients to the “stuffing” including Worcestershire, balsamic vinegar and crushed red pepper flakes in order to make my taste buds extra happy. These were so good, I have made them about once a week for the past month and what is even better they are super easy and quick to make. The perfect recipe for weeknight dinners!

Philly Cheesesteak Stuffed Red Bell Peppers

Ingredients

  • 5 Red Bell Peppers (or green if you prefer)
  • 1 Large Container Mushrooms (whole or pre-sliced, 16oz.)
  • 2 Roast Beef Lunch Meat Containers (or about 16oz.)
  • 1 Large Onion (sliced, medium to thick)
  • 3 Cloves of Garlic (minced)
  • 15 Slices of Provolone Cheese (5 of those slices cut in half)
  • 1-2 tsp. Crushed Red Pepper Flakes (depending on how much heat you like)
  • 2 ½ tbsp. Worcestershire
  • 1 ½ tbsp. Balsamic Vinegar
  • Olive Oil
  • Butter
  • Salt & Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • 1-2 tbsp. Flour

Directions

Preheat oven to 425°F

Step One

Cut the bell peppers in half length-wise and remove the stem, seeds and the membrane. Line them up on a baking sheet and place in the oven for 15 minutes (if you are using green bell peppers I would recommend adding an extra 3-5 minutes).

Step Two

While the bell peppers are in the oven slice the onions, mushrooms (if needed), roast beef and mince the garlic.

Step Three

Remove the bell peppers from the oven and soak up the liquid sitting in the peppers with a paper towel. Set to the side and keep the oven on.

Step Four

In a large saute pan heat a tablespoon of olive oil and a tablespoon of butter over medium-high heat. Add the onions and saute for about 5 minutes then add the garlic and continuing cooking for another minute. Add the mushrooms and roast beef then season with salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. Cook for 8-10 minutes or until the mushrooms are tender and the ingredients are all thoroughly combined.

Step Five

At this point you should notice some liquid in the pan, add the flour, a tablespoon at a time until the liquid is soaked up. Add the Worcestershire and the balsamic and stir to thoroughly combine, cook for another 3-5 minutes.

Step Six

While you are waiting during the last 3-5 minutes of cooking, place the provolone slices that are cut in half inside of the bell pepper halves. Top with the meat/mushroom mixture (evenly distributed amongst the bell peppers) then top off with the remaining provolone slices.

Place in the oven and cook for 10-15 minutes or until the cheese begins to brown and bubble.

Eat & Enjoy!

My Tastee Tips

Continuously taste the meat/mushroom mixture as it comes together, depending on your personal preference you may like more heat or more vinegar etc. Don’t be afraid to taste it and say, “Hey! I think this would be great with _____ or with more ______,” that is the best part of cooking, making it your own!

If you are looking for a really quick dinner I would recommend buying the mushrooms pre-sliced, this will save quite a bit of time when cooking these Philly cheesesteak stuffed bell peppers.

Leave a comment